All News

Eight high school seniors were each awarded a $1000 Touchstone Energy scholarship by Fairfield Electric Cooperative, Inc. Ciara Able, Zoe Bills, Madison Bonig, Kaiyana Boyd, Samara Butler, Isabelle Lockhart, Caroline Stuckey and Smyra Thomas were selected after an extensive application and interview process.

Ciara Able, a student at Blythewood High School, will attend North Carolina A&T in the fall. She plans to major in Architectural Engineering. Zoe Bills and Caroline Stuckey are both seniors at Lugoff-Elgin High School. Bills plans to study Mechanical Engineering with a specialization in Aerospace at Brigham Young University. Stuckey will pursue a degree in Architecture at Clemson University. Spring Valley High School is also represented with two scholarship recipients – Madison Bonig and Isabelle Lockhart. Bonig plans to study Criminology at Lander University. Lockhart is set to attend Winthrop University where she will pursue a degree in Secondary Education with a minor in English or Social Studies. Seniors Kaiyana Boyd and Smyra Thomas are students at Fairfield Central High School. Boyd is headed to Winthrop University to study Social Work and Thomas will enroll at Claflin University to major in Business Administration. Rounding out the scholarship award winners is a senior from Westwood High School - Samara Butler. In the fall, she plans to attend The University of South Carolina where she will major in Exercise Science.

Fairfield Electric Cooperative’s Touchstone Scholarship is available each year to students whose primary residence is served by the Cooperative. Students are selected based on their scholastic record, community involvement and extra-curricular activities. Touchstone Energy is a nationwide alliance of independent, consumer-owned co-ops. Fairfield Electric and the other Touchstone Energy Cooperatives share the values of commitment to community, integrity, accountability, and innovation.